Gyda Valtysdottir



Abbreviated Credits:


  • Four Down
  • Epilogues
  • The Last Autumn
  • Undir halastjörnu
  • Two Little Italians


  • Knock at the Cabin (solo cello)
  • Causeway (solo cellist & arrangements)
  • A Letter from Helga (cellist & arrangements)
  • After Yang (strings)
  • Audrey (solo cellist)
  • The Way Back (solo cellist)
  • Miss Americana (solo cellist)
  • Captive State (solo cello)
  • The Biggest Little Farm (solo cellist)
  • There Is a Light: Il Padre d'Italia (additional music)
  • Umrika (cello)
  • Breathe In (additional music)
  • Branson (solo cellist)
  • Surface (solo cellist)
  • A Christmas Carol (solo cello)
  • La Stanza (additional music)
  • Tales from the Gimli Hospital - Guy Maddin (live performance at PERFORMA festival NYC)


  • ZERO - Humanhood
  • Empathy - Neon Dance
  • Death of a Salesman - The Reykjavik City Theatre
  • Kippa - The Icelandic Dance Company
  • Toe The Line - Clea Onori
  • Magdalena - PROTOTYPE festival NYC

Awards / Biography:

Gyda Valtysdottir is a cellist, composer and a producer with an extraordinarily unique musical background, from founding the electronic dream-pop band múm in her teens, to gaining a double master degree in classical cello performance and free improvisation. She has composed for dance, film and theatre and has a vast list of collaborators such as the Kronos Quartet, Aaron & Bryce Dessner, Dustin O ́Halloran, Damien Rice, Colin Stetson, Ben Forst, Jónsi & Kjartan Sveinsson from Sigurros, Wadada Leo Smith, Arto Lindsay, Snow Patrol, Skúli Sverrisson, Josephine Foster and visual-art superstar Ragnar Kjartansson, just to name few. Aside from her many collaborations, she has created a distinctive voice with her solo albums, all which have won her several awards. Her music flows effortlessly between genres and time, creating original sonic realms that are both new and familiar. Her craftsmanship won her the prestigious Nordic Council Music Prize in 2019, for her “deeply personal and organic performance, fragile and subtle, yet powerful and temperamental."

Personal Website:

View Composer's Website