Herdis Stefansdottir



Abbreviated Credits:


  • Trap
  • Knock at the Cabin
  • The Sun Is Also A Star
  • South Mountain
  • The Hate You Give (addt’l music)
  • Puzzle (addt’l music)


  • Essex Serpent
  • Y: The Last Man
  • Black Port
  • We’re Here


  • Sealskin
  • Silence of Fish
  • Facing North
  • Donor
  • Willow Creek Road
  • Thick Skin
  • Ookie Cookie

Awards / Biography:

Herdís Stefánsdóttir is a composer of music for multimedia, a songwriter, and an electronic musician. Her compositional endeavors -- installations in museums, dance, theatre, and a successful electronic music duet she is a part of – are establishing her as an expansive artist.

Herdís Stefánsdóttir graduated with a M.A. degree in film scoring from New York University. She has scored two American feature films, including the recently released “The Sun is Also a Star” for MGM and Warner Brothers.  

Herdís formed her electro-pop duet East of My Youth in 2015. East of My Youth’s music has been described as sensual and addictive as getting your tongue frozen to a glacier of pure honey (jajaja music). The duo has showcased at SxSW, Eurosonic Noorderslag, KEXP, Sonar Reykjavík and Iceland Airwaves.

Born in Reykjavík, Iceland, Herdís currently shares her time between Los Angeles and Reykjavik, where she works as a composer.

Personal Website:

View Composer's Website